Ondo Assembly Dissolves 18 LG Caretaker Committees, Confirms ODIEC Nominees 

The caretaker committees in the 18 local government areas of Ondo state were on Tuesday dissolved by the State House of Assembly.

The caretaker committees were appointed in April, last year and their tenure elongated in October which ended yesterday.

Bamidele Oloyelogun, Speaker of the Assembly, announced the dissolution at a plenary, following the expiration of additional six months tenure of the caretaker committees.

Oloyelogun asked the caretaker chairmen to handover to the Directors of Local Government Administration in their respective council areas.

It would be recalled that a state high court had in March 2017 announced the dissolution of the council chairmen and councillors elected during the administration of former Governor Olusegun Mimiko.

Justice Adesola Sidiq in his ruling said the election conducted by ODIEC under the chairmanship of Olugbenga Ige was in violation of the country’s constitution.

The Assembly also confirmed the nominees earlier sent to it by Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu as members of the State Independent Electoral Commission ODIEC.

The confirmation took place at the plenary presided over by Oleyelogun after the submission of the screening report by House Committee on Selection.

The ODIEC members approved are Yomi Dinakin, who will serve as Chairman, Soji Omowole, Oladele Akinyelure and Mr Tunde Adeyeye.

Other members of the commission include Stella Omotoso, Tajú Ibrahim and Mr Rotimi Olorunfemi.

Dinakin, who responded on behalf of the ODIEC members, promised the commission would act in accordance with the provisions of the constitution.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Quick News Africa is an integrated media solutions provider.

The company also provides solutions for web based communications, marketing and advertising.

Currently operating on a multiple – location system with correspondents in all nooks and crannies of Africa.

Copyright © 2018 Quick News Africa.

To Top