Pogba beat Zlatan, Mikhitaryan to win Europa League Best Player award

Manchester United star Paul Pogba has won Europa Leagues’s Best Player award following the Red Devils’ triumph last season.

France midfielder Pogba led the way ahead of team-mates Henrikh Mkhitaryan and Zlatan Ibrahimovic following United’s triumph in the 2016-17 tournament, which secured the club a route back into the Champions League.

The Frenchman featured in all 15 games, scoring three goals as Jose Mourinho’s side reigned victorious in Europe’s secondary competiton.

After finishing second in their group behind Fenerbahce, United went on to beat St-Etienne, Rostov, Anderlecht and Celta Vigo, before beating Ajax 2-0 in the final.

United finished sixth in the league, meaning Europa League victory allowed the Red Devils a route into the Champions League.

Upon receiving the award, Pogba said: “To be the first one to win the best player, hopefully this season will be as good as last season. Thank you so much.”

On Thursday, United found out their Champions League group fate. Mourinho’s men were drawn into Group A alongside Benfica, Basel and CSKA Moscow.

Arsenal and Everton also featured in the Europa League draw on Friday. The Gunners are in Group H with BATE Borisov, FC Koln and Red Star Belgrade.

The Toffees were drawn into Group E alongside Lyon, Atalanta and Apollon.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Quick News Africa is an integrated media solutions provider.

The company also provides solutions for web based communications, marketing and advertising.

Currently operating on a multiple – location system with correspondents in all nooks and crannies of Africa.

Copyright © 2018 Quick News Africa.

To Top